Europeana Regia




Europeana Regia, a digital collaborative library of royal manuscripts is the name of a project that ran from 01/2010 until 06/2012. It’s purpose was to draw together three collections of royal manuscripts that are currently dispersed and which represent European cultural activity at three distinct periods in history: the Bibliotheca Carolina (8th and 9th centuries), the Library of Charles V and Family (14th century) and the Library of the Aragonese Kings of Naples (15th and 16th centuries). These manuscripts are fully accessible on the websites of the partner libraries and are also included in Europeana.

Besides the digitisation of more than a thousand manuscripts a major accomplishment has been to harmonise the export of metadata available in various formats (EAD, MARC21, TEI, MAB, etc) during the delivery towards The European Library and the Europeana. Although the project has been carried out by five major partners, in the end manuscripts are available from 31 institutions.

Europeana Regia has been funded by the European Commission under the Information and Communication Technology Policy Support Programme (ICT PSP).



  • Languages: Latin, English, French, German, Spanish, Catalan, Dutch
  • Countries: France, Germany, Spain, Belgium, Switzerland
  • Dates: 9th cent., 14th cent., 15th cent.
  • Names:
  • Disciplines: manuscript studies, palaeography, metadata formats


Links and references

Manuscripts are available as well at: