Call for Nominations for the 2011 Antonio Zampolli Prize

The Antonio Zampolli Prize is an award of the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organisations (ADHO). Now in its inaugural year, the prize will be given every three years to honour an outstanding scholarly achievement in humanities computing. It is presented by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) on behalf of its constituent organizations: the Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC), the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the Society for Digital Humanities/Société pour l’étude des médias interactifs (SDH/SEMI).

The prize is named in honour of the late Professor Antonio Zampolli (1937-2003), who was one of the founding members of the Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC) in 1973, and ALLC President 1983-2003. He was a major figure in the development of literary and linguistic computing from the 1960s, and an enthusiastic supporter of the joint international conferences of ALLC and the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH), which were initiated in 1989. He was also a prime mover in the Text Encoding Initiative, both in the initial 11-year project, and in the establishment of the TEI Consortium.

The Zampolli Prize is given to recognise a single outstanding output in the digital humanities by any scholar or scholars at any stage in their career. The output must involve the innovative use of information and communications technologies and may take the form of published research and/or the development of research-related tools or resources. The award will be made on the basis of the output’s importance as a contribution to the digital humanities, taking into account the significance both of its use of information and communication technologies and of its actual or potential contribution to the advancement of humanities research.

For a complete description of the Antonio Zampolli Prize, see

The first Antonio Zampolli Prize will be given at the Digital Humanities 2011 conference, which will be held at Stanford University.

The Award Committee invites nominations for this award. Nominations may be made by anyone with an interest in humanities computing and neither nominee nor nominator need be a member of ACH, ALLC or SDH/SEMI.

Nominators should give an account of the nominee’s work and the reasons it is felt to be an outstanding contribution to the field. A list of bibliographic references to the nominee’s work is required.

Nominations should be sent no later than 15 February 2010, to the Chair of the Antonio Zampolli Prize Committee:

Ray Siemens,
University of Victoria,
PO Box 3070
Victoria, BC, Canada. V8W 3W1.

Email submissions are preferred.

Members of the 2011 Antonio Zampolli Prize Committee:
Ray Siemens (Chair)
Jean Anderson, Chuck Bush, Matt Jockers, Øyvind Eide
Marilyn Deegan, Julia Flanders, Christian Vandendorpe
John Nerbonne, Harold Short, John Walsh

Posted by: Roberto Rosselli Del Turco (rosselli at ling dot unipi dot it)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.